I Live with This

August 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

We were all dog lovers
but had no idea
how to
truly care
for them.
We kept them in a pen
far away
from our house.
And then
clipped our dogs
ears,
elf-style.
The elf-style was my recommendation.
My parents took and ran with it,
I was 10.
I had no idea the torture we were causing
to the poor puppy.
I watched roosters fight
claw and claw and
tear out feathers one by
one.
My uncles, cousins laughed and spit
and tied their legs together.
I thought that was how things were done
everywhere.
My dad shot cats
he hated them.
I didn’t understand why
But I knew
I should hate them too.
I found a black and white kitten and
I wanted to keep it.
But it disappeared
Quite suddenly.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Live with This at Goodbye Expiration.

meta

